White mushrooms cause cancer?

mushrooms_white I was reading one of my health magazines today and there  was a feature on all of the health benefits of different types of mushrooms from Shitakes, morels, oyster mushrooms and finally, our friendly standard, the white button mushroom.  However, the article said that you shouldn’t eat white button mushrooms or portabellos raw (not that I ever wanted to eat a thick rubbery portabello raw). Most health related news doesn’t surprise me after reading these types of magazines for about a decade. However, I had never heard this warning before. Apparently, these mushrooms have some carcinogens that get cooked away.  I researched this a bit more online and found that there are conflicting studies. While most people agree that there are carcinogens in white mushrooms, some studies say that only two out of the three carcinogens found in white mushrooms get cooked off.  (online article) Ahhh… everything seems to cause cancer these days. So, do I keep eating white mushrooms? Its likely…

4 Responses to White mushrooms cause cancer?

  1. Kane says:

    That is actually pretty interesting but i don’t think that i was going to eat a raw mushroom anyway i barely even like. thanks for the heads up… :)

  2. Rivka says:

    White mushrooms are presently being researched as it is believed that they can actually prevent certain types of cancer like breast and prostate and help prevent recurrences after cancers have been removed.

  3. Ken says:

    Yes I came across the same thing in my research today about Mushrooms, however the overwhelming evidence I found was positive. I like to add them to my salads raw, but I will look into this matter more! I juice Carrots etc so I have plenty of anti Cancer causing nutrients in my system so I am not to concerned but will look more into this. I did however find an interesting article on the matter for anyone interested. I however my disclaimer is that I have no idea of the accuracy of it..just some “food” lol for thought!

    http://www.garfield.library.upenn.edu/papers/vethumtoxicology31%286%29p589y1989.html

  4. STEVE COMBS says:

    THERE IS ALWAYS SOMEONE SAYING THIS IS BAD OR THAT IS BAD. THEY GO BACK AND FORTH WITH EGGS GOOD AND BAD . I BELIEVE MUSHROOMS THE ONES U CAN EAT WAS CREATED BY MY HEAVENLY FATHER .I DO NOT BELIEVE EVERYTHING I HEAR AND READ IF I DID I WOULD NOT TOUCH ANYTHING. I DO BELIEVE IN DOCTORS BUT REMEMBER THEY GET PAID SO THAT IS HOW THEY MAKE THEIR LIVING .WE HAVE GOOD ONES AND BAD ONES .

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

